Behavioral Health Services Committee

Established in 1997, the NAPHS Committee on Behavioral Health Services within General Healthcare Systems works to understand and elevate on the NAPHS agenda those issues that impact behavioral health services within general medical settings; focus attention on issues related to the interface of psychiatry and general medicine; and develop services and resources.



  • Annetta K. Caplinger, M.S.N, Director of Clinical Operations, Institute of Living: Hartford Hospital,  CT

Members (and Steering Committee):

  • Tracey Barham, R.N., M.S.N., M.B.A., Service Line Administrator for Behavioral Health, St. Dominic-Jackson Memorial Hospital, MS
  • Sharon A. Bergen, Chief Operating Officer, Belmont Center For Comprehensive Treatment, PA
  • Betsy Blair, Chief Operating Officer, CJW Medical Center/Tucker, VA
  • Jodie L. Boone, Administrator, Mayo Clinic, MN
  • Timothy F. Brady, Regional Vice President, BHS-TriStar & Mid America Divisions, Hospital Corporation of America (HCA), TN
  • Marie Caffey, Associate Chair Administration & Finance, Langley Porter Psychiatric Hospital & Clinics, CA
  • Annetta K. Caplinger, M.S.N, Director of Clinical Operations, Institute of Living: Hartford Hospital,  CT
  • Peter E. Carlson, President, Aurora Behavioral Health Services, WI
  • David F. Cawley, Chief Executive Officer, The CawleyJohnson Group, GA
  • Marina T. Cecchini, M.P.A., Administrator, UF Health Shands Psychiatric Hospital, FL
  • Clayton Ciha, President/CEO, Alexian Brothers Behavioral Health Hospital, IL
  • Charles Clark, Senior Vice President, Parkview Behavioral Health, IN
  • Liz Clary, Vice President of Behavioral Health Services, Parkwest Medical Center, TN
  • Richard Cleland, M.P.A., F.A.C.H.E., N.H.A., Chief Executive Officer, Erie County Medical Center Corporation, NY
  • Mark J. Cullen, Chief Executive Officer, Compass Health, LA
  • William Daly, M.A., Chief Executive Officer, Pennsylvania Psychiatric Institute, PA
  • Deborah Dominick., Administrator, Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center - Tau Center, LA
  • Julia Drew, System Executive Director - Behavioral Health, AtlantiCare Behavioral Health, NJ
  • Lucy Easler, M.S., R.N., Director, Behavioral Care Services, Palmetto Health Baptist & Richland Springs, SC 
  • Deborah Forster, R.H.I.A., Administrative Director - Behavioral Health, Reflections Behavioral Health Unit @ Mercy Hospital Ada, OK
  • Frank A. Ghinassi, Ph.D., A.B.P.P., VP, Quality & Performance Improvement, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic of UPMC, PA
  • Barry Ginsberg, M.D., Chief of Psychiatry/Medical Director, BayRidge Hospital, MA
  • Jerry Gold, Ph.D., Administrator, Scripps Behavioral Health, CA
  • Michele L. Gougeon, Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, McLean Hospital, MA
  • Debbie Green, President of Behavioral Health, Cone Health - Behavioral Health Hospital, NC
  • Matthew Haas, LICSW, LADC-I, Director of Behavioral Health, Baystate Health, MA
  • Mary Hanrahan, L.C.S.W., Government Relations Specialist, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, NY
  • Michelle Hansen, Interim Director, Richard H. Young Hospital, NE
  • Jo Haubenreiser, Vice President, Forsyth Behavioral Health, NC
  • Robert Herzog, Administrator, Florida Hospital Center for Behavioral Health, FL
  • Jim Igo, Vice President, INTEGRIS Mental Health, Inc., OK
  • Sheree Keely, Vice President, CHI Health Behavioral Services, NE
  • Dennis P. King, F.A.C.H.E., Chief Executive Office, Maine Behavioral Healthcare, ME
  • Randy Kirksey, L.M.F.T., Clinical Services Manager, Memorial Behavioral Health at Gulfport, MS
  • Mary Jane Krebs, A.P.R.N., B.C., F.A.C.H.E., Chief Executive Officer, Spring Harbor Hospital, a Division of Maine Behavioral Healthcare, ME
  • Michael P. Krupa, Ed.D., Chief Executive Officer, Health Partners New England/Health Partners Technology, MA
  • Stephen W. Larcen, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Natchaug Hospital, Mansfield Center, CT
  • Kathi Lencioni, M.P.H., F.A.C.H.E., Senior Vice President/CEO, SHARP Mesa Vista Hospital, CA
  • Barbara Linder, MPA, Director Behavioral Health Service Line, New York-Presbyterian Hospital, NY
  • Steven B. Lindquist, A.C.S.W., Assistant Vice President, Behavioral Health, Avera McKennan Behavioral Health Services, SD
  • Cherie Martin, R.N., F.A.C.H.E., Chief Executive Officer, Banner Behavioral Health Hospital, AZ
  • Joseph McNulty, III, Chief Executive Officer, Pioneer Health Services, MS
  • Stephen Merz, F.A.C.H.E., Vice President and Executive Director, Behavioral Health, Yale-New Haven Psychiatric Hospital, CT
  • Pete Mumma, M.S., System Director, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Health, LifeBridge Health, MD
  • Leslie Nyman, Administrator, Kalispell Regional Medical Center - Pathways Treatment Center, MT
  • Cheryl M. Odell, C.N.O., SHARP Mesa Vista Hospital, CA
  • Marguerite Pedley, Ph.D., Vice President, Inpatient Services, Princeton House Behavioral Health, NJ
  • Jill Pollock, R.N., M.S., M.F.T., Administrator, Loma Linda Behavioral Medicine Center, CA
  • Darnell Powell, Director, Behavioral Medicine Services, Normal Regional Health System, OK
  • Gayle Reneer, Vice President Nursing/Patient Care Services, SSM Health - SSM Behavioral Health Services, OK
  • Kenneth M. Rogers, M.D., M.S.P.H., M.M.M., Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Behavioral Health Services of the Greenville Hospital System, SC
  • Steve Rublee, Administrator, MUSC Institute of Psychiatry, SC
  • Gail Ryder, M.S., Vice President, BayCare Behavioral Health, FL
  • Debbie Sanford, R.N., M.B.A., Chief Officer, Pine Grove Behavioral Health and Addiction Services, MS
  • John M. Santopietro, M.D., F.A.P.A., Chief Clinical Officer, Carolinas HealthCare System, NC
  • Harold I. Schwartz, M.D., Psychiatrist-in-Chief and VP, Behavioral Health, Institute of Living: Hartford Hospital, CT
  • Gina M. Sharp, M.B.A., F.A.C.H.E., President, Linden Oaks at Edward, IL
  • Lisa Shea, M.D.,  Medical Director, Butler Hospital, RI
  • Rick Shrum, Chief Operating Officer, Diamond Healthcare Corporation, VA
  • MItchell Shuwall, Ph.D., Executive Director, North Shore - LIJ Health System, NY
  • Ted Stryker, Vice President, Mental Health Services, Centra Health, VA
  • Shastri Swaminathan, M.D., Chairman, Advocate Behavioral Health Council, IL
  • Michael Tarmey, RN, MS, Director of Programs/Operations, Lahey Health Behavioral Services, MA
  • Nicoletta Tessler, PsyD, M.B.A., Interim Chief Administrative Officer, Jackson Behavioral Health Hospital, FL
  • Harsh K. Trivedi, M.D., M.B.A., Executive Director and Chief Medical Officer, Vanderbilt Behavioral Health; Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Psychiatry, TN
  • Scott Wagner,Vice President, Behavioral Health Solutions, Pine Rest Christian Mental Health Services, MI
  • Deborah Weidner, M.D., M.B.A., Chief Medical Officer, Natchaug Hospital, Inc., CT
  • Martha Whitecotton, Senior Vice President, Behavioral Health Services, Carolinas HealthCare System, NC
  • Geoffrey Williams, M.Ed., Director, Outpatient Behavioral Care, Palmetto Health, SC
  • Richard Wohl, M.S.W., M.B.A., President, Princeton House Behavioral Health/Princeton Health Care System (In-Patient), NJ
  • Scott York, Senior Director Behavioral Health Services, Community Health Systems, TN
  • Michael A. Zieman, F.A.C.H.E., Administrator, Memorial Behavioral Health at Gulfport, MS

Staff Liaisons:

  • Mark Covall, President & CEO, National Association of Psychiatric Health Systems, Washington, DC
  • Carole Szpak, Director of Operations and Communications, National Association of Psychiatric Health Systems, Washington, DC
  • Kathleen McCann, R.N., Ph.D., Director of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, National Association of Psychiatric Health Systems, Washington, DC

As of 3.10.2015